• Home
  • Compare
  • Calculate
  • Blog

Do you know having a sweet tooth has nothing to do with age? Even though excessive sugar isn’t recommended, sugar is still an essential part of our diet. As a Muslim, you might ask be on the lookout for halal candies in the US to ensure you’re following the Islamic dietary guidelines.

People with a sweet tooth are always on the lookout for the next candy to satisfy their cravings. The world of candy is a rollercoaster; one time, you’re chugging down a fruity, chewy candy, and the next, you find a sour flavor that you can’t seem to resist.

 This article will answer questions like what candies are halal in the US, what are halal candies, and other related information. Let’s get into it!

What are Halal Candies?

Halal sweets or halal Candies are sweets produced according to the Islamic dietary guidelines. They don’t have meat, pork gelatin, and other haram ingredients as their constituents. Haram ingredients like coloring E470-E483 and E542 are common in some of these products, which is why you should be careful.

The halal sweets market has grown due to the rapid demand from Muslims. Muslims now have startups selling halal sweets for Ramadan, Eid, charity occasions, get-togethers, etc. Hence, you can find different varieties of halal candies in the US if you know where to look.

1. Sour Patch Kids

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Sour Patch Kids (@sourpatchkids)

Sour Patch Kids is one of the halal Candies in the USA. It’s a lovable candy that has been in existence since the 1980s. The candies have a unique flavor with their selling point, which is the sour first taste, then sweet. It’s available in several shapes and sizes, making it a go-to candy for anyone with a sweet tooth. The unique selling point of Sour Patch Kids is the ability to leave a sweet aftertaste of the sourness.

Another thing that sets Sour Patch Kids apart is the absence of gelatin, which can lead to doubts about whether it’s halal or not. Moreover, the ingredients present in the candy include Corn Syrup, Citric acid, Invert sugar, Sugar, Artificial colors, White mineral oil, etc. Sour Patch Kids has numerous flavors like lemon, orange, blue raspberry, red, and lime. Also, the candies don’t contain any pork or alcohol ingredients.

2. Dots Candies

Dots are one of the most halal-friendly candies in the US. They’re nut-free, gluten-free, peanut-free, and kosher. These candies are dome-shaped with an irresistible taste that makes them one of the best for everyone with a sweet tooth. Dots Candies are available in several flavors like lemon, orange, strawberry, and cherry, watermelon among other variations.

Furthermore, the ingredients used include malic acid, salt, artificial and natural flavors, modified food starch, sugar, and corn syrup. According to these ingredients, Dots candies are halal but not Dots jellies since they contain gelatin, and the halal status needs to be assured. Moreover, the Dots Candies don’t contain pork or alcohol-derived products, so they’re safe to consume. 

3. Swedish Fish

Swedish Fish is a soft, chewy candy that’s been in existence since the late 1950s. They’re fish-shaped, gluten-free, and available in various colors and flavors. The ingredients used include sugar, corn syrup, modified corn starch, invert sugar, citric acid, white mineral oil, carnauba wax, Red forty, Natural and synthetic flavors.

The Carnauba wax is responsible for the chewy texture of the candies and is a great alternative to gelatin. It’s also plant-based. Swedish Fish comes in flavors like cherry, strawberry, and raspberry. These candies don’t contain any animal-derived ingredients, so they’re great for halal consumption.

In the US, Swedish Fish has been certified halal by The Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America and kosher in Canada. This certification ensures that the products meet the halal dietary guides of Muslims.

4. Twizzlers

This is a licorice candy that’s chewy and enjoyed all over the world—looking for halal Candies in the US? Twizzlers are a fascinating option. According to the manufacturer, the ingredients include corn syrup, enriched wheat flour, cornstarch, palm oil, sugar, salt, glycerin, citric acid, artificial flavor, potassium sorbate, Mineral oil, soy lecithin, and Red 40.

The candies don’t contain any animal-derived ingredients, making them halal for Muslims. Besides, the original Twizzlers is halal, but that’s debatable for the Twizzlers Gummies. Hence, it’s better to stay away from that. Twizzlers are available in various flavors like Strawberry, Pull-n-Peel, Bites Cherry, Cherry, Nibs Cherry, Licorice, Mystery Flavor, Chocolate, Orange Cream Pop, and Rainbow.

If the question ‘Are Twizzlers halal been plaguing you,’ then the answer is Yes, the original Twizzlers are halal.

5. Tootsie Roll and Tootsie Pop

Tootsie Roll Industries is home to several candies of different flavors. It’s one of the biggest online candies wholesalers in the US. They offer chewy candies with fruity sensations available in the best flavor. Tootsie Roll Industries is famous for two main products – Tootsie Roll and Tootsie Pop. The Tootsie Roll candy is a chewy and taffy candy that’s the first to be singly wrapped in America.

Tootsie Pop, on the other hand, is another halal candy in the US. It’s a hard candy lollipop, chewy with chocolate flavor. Tootsie Roll Industries has evolved over the years and has produced several products. Similarly, some other products from Tootsie Roll industries include candy blox, Child’s Play assorted candies, Polar Mint, Andes Chocolate Mints, fluffy stuff cotton candy, etc.

Bottom line

Halal candies in the US are a topic that plagues the mind of every Muslim with a sweet tooth. There are several candies, and knowing the halal ones will help you stick to your faith and abide by the Islamic dietary rules. With this article, we’ve explored what halal candies are and a few halal candies you can get in the US. You should check them out!